Day 25: MC-1 Part IV: Steering using a servo

The first version of the MC-1 (Monster Car 1) presented on days 20, 21, and 22 used a solenoid to steer the wheels. Unfortunately, that approach did not work at all–I think I broke the solenoid 😦 –so I decided to replace it by a servo.

The first step was remove the solenoid and the enclosing box and cut the plastic to make room for the servo.

1_MotorRoom

I have made a hole in the plastic to attach the servo using a machine screw and a nut. I have attached the other side of the servo to a L-shape servo support. The support itself was fixed to the chassis using a self tapping screw because that part of the chassis was very thick.

I have made a hole in the steering bar and connected it to the servo wheel using a paper clip.

4_InstalledMotor

The final result is very good, as we can see in the following pictures.

TurningLeft

Center

TurningRight

This picture shows the servo in the car with the wheels on the ground.

TurningTop

I am not using the whole range of positions the servo provides. The pulses width are from 1000 µs to 2000 µs.

