Day 22: MC-1 Part III: First test

Although nothing caught fire, things did not work the way I intended them to:

  • The workaround used to activate the solenoid did not work. The front wheel barely turned.
  • The speed slider was calibrated with the wheels on the air. When the car was on the ground, it took almost full power to start moving it, although it was possible slowing it down once it was moving.
  • The live video feed (as described on Day 18) presented two to four seconds of lagging.
  • The camera shakes a lot when the car is moving.

Despite these enhancement opportunities, I consider it a success. It is my first successful circuit since I was in the 6th grade. I learnt a lot of things and had lots of fun. When I was at the University, I had a very frustrating experience trying to use the 8031 micro-controller.

For the future, I am considering the following possibilities:

  • Use relays to activate the solenoid or replace it for a servo to turn the front wheels.
  • Replace the L293D (600mA) for the L298N(2A).
  • Replace the nc program used to stream the video over the network for a home made one. Maybe replace the video for still pictures.
  • Change the camera position and/or add some shock absorber device.
